Cafe Au Lait

Cafe Au Lait

Like most Americans, I love coffee. While it is not what gets me going in the morning, it will forever be a drink close to my heart. It conjures up so many memories, some good and some bad. Coffee on a cold morning, before an exam, with a friend, as a treat. No matter how you look at it, coffee is good.

Since becoming vegan, however, my biggest struggle has been missing the creamer that goes in my coffee. (Sounds silly, but it really has been hard!) You have to admit, steamed milk and coffee make a fine pair, but they do not line up with my new lifestyle.

So I have been exploring alternatives. Steamed soy and almond milk are among my favorites. Pour either of those over a light roast with some cinnamon on top, and you won’t be disappointed. But I have also recently tried SO Delicious’s coconut milk creamer. I was pretty skeptical at the start, but I must say it’s a winner too. If you don’t have the option of steaming soy or almond milk, then I would go with this dairy free alternative.

So saying hello to veganism did not mean kissing my favorite drink goodbye. I can sleep easy and wake up to a cup of coffee

3 thoughts on “Cafe Au Lait

  1. I am right there with you! Nothing replaces a perfect constructed latte (hard to find sometimes)…I have been dairy free for years and love when I find a coffee place that has almond milk it is by far my favorite. I have also tried hemp and rice milk but they seem to not steam as well as the almond. As a whole I try to stay away from soy the best I can but most coffee shops this is all they offer….oh and it always frustrates me how baristas over steam non-dairy milks!! Have you had this problem?

    Another fast fav for coffee at home for me is a brewed organic coffee, 1 tsp coconut oil, and 1/4 c almond milk…nutty good ;).

    • Thankfully, I am a barista, so I have control over my steaming 😉 That being said, I have encountered this problem. I recommend going to the same coffee shop every time, until they know your drink. And I love the idea of putting coconut oil in my coffee. I’m going to try that for sure!

Leave a comment